Marriage material

Welcome to my new blog! I think you’ll agree it is just as pretty and useful as its owner!

The first item of newsworthiness I have to report is of course that I am now a wedded gent. I know, I feel strange even saying that! Marriage has always, in the past, been something that belonged to people older than me, even when it was refering to people younger than me. In much the same way that anyone with children, anyone who has a higher position at work, or anybody with a house is automatically older than me, regardless of whether this is true or not.

Jen and I have been together eleven years, and we decided to “en-wed” on our tenth anniversary. For me, getting married is not about changing our relationship, but about a chance to celebrate it with the people we love. As I said at the wedding, the people who surround us influence who we become, and so if we are able to be part of a loving, stable relationship, that’s a reflection on the love and generosity that we are surrounded with.

Anyway, we got married in the backyard of a B&B in Montville, in the Sunshine Coast hinterland. It was beautiful, and neither of us could imagine anything going any better than it did. Even the unscheduled, impromptu visit by a local cat added to the day! Everyone who was there told us the ceremony felt sincere and heartfelt, which is what we wanted, while also working in the requisite Bon Jovi references just to stop things getting, you know, classy.

Anyway, I am now a husband!

And so we have started new blogs to go with our new life.

We will also be looking to purchase matching tracksuits. I think that’s what you have to do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Marriage material

  1. Cat Sparks says:

    Marriage is one thing but you know there’s no going back from matching track suits, right?

    ps congratulations!

  2. Stephen Carlyon says:

    I’m pretty sure the marriage isn’t legal until matching tracksuits are purchased. And I have a pretty good grasp of the law, let me tell you.

  3. Gillian says:

    Mazel tov! (I refuse to make the standard follow-on joke about matching tracksuits. What you really need is matching bunny slipers.)

  4. exp_err says:

    Congratulations! I entirely agree with your philosophy on marriage. (As you might know, my partner and I married in April, after 10 years together, for much the same reason).

  5. lynda says:

    Nice work on the blog and the nuptialisations Ben. Looks like a super day was had by all and I hope that remains the theme from now on 🙂

    You’re a grown-up now! Ha ha. *kicks shins and runs away*

  6. Rachel Holkner says:

    Congratulations to you both 🙂

  7. Scott says:

    Congrats Ben. i think if you _need_ to get married you’re doing it for the wrong reasons. It doesn’t change anything, just strengthens what already was. So may you have more of the same for a long time. I’m not sure how tracksuits fit into that.

  8. Congrats man, that’s lovely news 🙂 all the best to you guys!

  9. sajbrfem says:

    Awesome! I absolutely love the aviator stylings you have going on in the photo there 🙂

    But please tell me you are now living on a prayer, or maaybe wanted dead or alive, and not giving love a bad name!

  10. Ben says:

    I could try to work the rest of the song titles from the album into my reply, but Jen would justifiably divorce me.

    Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

