Input

So another year draws to a close. I notice I haven’t blogged since October.

Why is this? Perhaps I have run out of things to say. Some days I think that growing old is a process of running out of things to say. That so many of the things I did have to say, the thoughts I had about the world, have broken down in the face of the mess, the complexity of it all, and all that is left is a kind of weary resignation.

Perhaps that’s too negative a description. Maybe acceptance and resignation sit side by side, and the psyche battles over which side it leans toward.

There must still be things to say, thoughts to have?

For Christmas I was given a book called Future Minds by Richard Watson. I’ve only read the introduction, but it seems to be offering the hypothesis that modern life (or should that be “modern life”?) is so full of input that we do not leave ourselves time to think. We are constantly connected, constantly taking in information. We give ourselves limited time to assess and process that information. And that in order to function at a deeper level we need to take a step back.

I am always wary of internet stereotypes, but I do wonder if there’s some truth in the hypothesis. I’m acutely aware of my own ideas feeling as though they’ve dried up, and I wonder how much of that is to do with too much time spent sifting through information (be it news, music, short stories), and not enough time taken to step back and process it.

It’s worth considering, anyway.

I still have a couple of days to consider my goals for the next year, but one of them, I think, is going to be to simplify my life a bit. To try to reduce the input and to allow myself time to think, and just be.

Maybe I will find myself feeling as though I have things to say again. Or maybe not. Either way, I’ll  have an answer of sorts, I guess.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Input

  1. deborahb says:

    >growing old is a process of running out of things to say<

    This is so how I feel!!

    Happy NY, Ben. Here's to having more to say (& a childlike delight in saying it) in 2011.

    D.

  2. Ben says:

    Indeed! Clink!

    (that was a glass)

Leave a Reply

