Sandbags

Sandbags

 

In my mind as a young man

I imagined myself unflappable and brave

In a crisis

The kind of can-do kind of kid

Who could save the world

Like Frodo or Garion or Elliott or Luke

The best of me brought forth

By adversity

 

But these sandbags

I do not understand

What are they for?

Do we sleep on them?

Do we put them above our heads?

Do we use them to mop up the rain-waters?

Do we prop them gingerly against the door?

 

All my childhood illusions

Brought undone

By this damn

Sandbag

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

