Valiant, Darkship Thieves

So this year I am trying to teach myself to give up reading books I am not enjoying.

I still feel a little guilty about it. But here are a couple I have decided I was not enjoying enough to plough through.

Valiant by Holly Black. I was quite conflicted with this book. I loved the opening couple of chapters. And Black’s writing and characterisation is always excellent. I really expected to enjoy it, and found it hard to pinpoint why, half way through, I wasn’t. I think maybe the characterisation took too much of a back seat to plot, and I actually didn’t find the stuff with the faeries living among us all that interesting. I will read more of her stuff, as I quite enjoyed Tithe, but this book didn’t work for me. 6/10

Darkship Thieves by Sarah A Hoyt. I found this book on my quest to discover more good female SF writers. It starts off well enough, and Hoyt can write well enough and keeps the plot ticking along. Honestly, though, I found the characters a bit wafer-thin, and I started to feel that it was more a book for a younger audience. If you are after a fun, fluffy SF book you may like this, but I got bored by about half way. 5/10

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Valiant, Darkship Thieves

  1. Alex says:

    Urgh. I read Darkship Thieves earlier this year for the Women in SF Bookclub. Urgh, I say again. It does not get better. In fact, I think calling it a fun and fluffy book is insulting to the fun and fluffy books of the world! Fun and fluffy requires a character with, I dunno, something fun about them… 🙂

  2. I recommend you skip ahead to White Cat if you’re interested in something different of Holly’s – I did like Valiant, but not nearly as much as WC which has a different, leaner prose & character voice.

Leave a Reply

