Best Albums of 2011

Okay, we’re six months in to 2011 and here are the albums I am most enjoying so far. Some of these are fairly new so my picks will no doubt change as the year goes by but nevertheless:

My favourite albums of 2011 thus far:

The King is Dead… The Decemberists

I Still Hear Your Voice at Night… The Paradise Motel

21… Adele

The People’s Key… Bright Eyes

Degeneration Street… The Dears

Wounded Rhymes… Lykke Li

Smart Flesh… The Low Anthem

Blessed… Lucinda Williams

All Eternals Deck… The Mountain Goats

Belong… The Pains of Being Pure at Heart

In the Cool of the Day… Daniel Martin Moore

Because I Can… Daphne Willis

The Double Cross… Sloan

Codes and Keys… Death Cab for Cutie

300 Days at Sea… Heather Nova

Bury Me In My Rings… The Elected

Kaputt… Destroyer

 

I should also make mention of those albums of 2010 that continue to command high rotation on my ipod:

Hurley… Weezer

I’m Having Fun Now… Jenny & Johnny

Lost… The Lovetones

Postcards from a Young Man… Manic Street Preachers

Lonely Avenue… Ben Folds/Nick Hornby

Write About Love… Belle and Sebastian

Luck and Courage… Franz Nicolay

Siamese… Craig Walker

The Memory Machine… Julia Stone

Body Talk… Robyn

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Albums of 2011

  1. Alisa says:

    I’m falling in love with Lyke Li!
    Gonna go find that new Death Cab for Cutie

  2. Ben says:

    Yeah I am enjoying Lyke Li. I recommend you check out Robyn too for gratuitous pop songs with smarter than usual lyrics.

Leave a comment