Buh-bye 2013

So it’s the last day of the year. Traditionally a day for taking stock. Personally I don’t feel like delving into the year too deeply. It was a mixture of positives and negatives. I feel that the first half of the year was fairly positive, but the second half of the year I allowed circumstances (in particular some setbacks at work and the dire election result) to depress me and get on top of me, and I found my positivity waning. I spent a lot of time working on my approach to the world, in general, and I feel that I made progress, but maybe not as quickly as I would have liked. Too much time spent on negativity, over-analysis and feeling bad about myself.

On the flip side, I am proud of what I achieved during nanowrimo, I made a couple of good friends, I spent a lot of nice times with close friends and family, and I feel like I ended the year in a positive frame of mind. I kept up with my meditation, had an on-off relationship with exercise, and generally got my sleep patterns into a more healthy frame. 

I have noticed, and have read, that humans have a negativity bias; when we look back on our own lives and relationships, it is easy for us to focus on the negatives, for the tough moments to stand out more than the many happy moments in between. Maybe that’s why most of us seem to get to the end of the year feeling like it’s time to boot it out the door and bring on the next.

2013 wasn’t so bad. Looking back, there is a lot to be grateful for. I hope in 2014 I learn to focus more on those things and less on the setbacks. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Buh-bye 2013

  1. Stacey says:

    You’re right about the negativity bias but 2013 really did suck balls for me. The first half, in any case. The last 3 months have been not too bad, really!

  2. Ben says:

    Yay for the last three months! Sorry the first half of the year sucked 😦 I hope in years to come you find you grew stronger from it!

    Glad to hear your year picked up though. Around about the time you met me! Coincidence?

    Just kidding. Anyway, 2014 is gonna rock for both of us!

  3. I love taking stock – even if only to have a record of my mindset on an annual basis. Glad you’re finishing on a positive and that NaNo was such a great experience! May your 2014 rock!

  4. Boot it out bring on the next one.

Leave a Reply

